The VCE is typically a two year program of study undertaken during the final two years of secondary education (Years 11 & 12).  It is a recognised qualification for entry to further studies at University or TAFE or for movement into the workforce.  The VCE is administered through the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA).

To be awarded the VCE:

To satisfactory complete the VCE, a student must have a satisfactory result (S) for a minimum of 16 units.  This must include:

  • at least three units from the English group, two of which must be a Unit 3–4 sequence
  • an additional three Unit 3–4 sequences of studies other than English, which may include any number of English sequences once the English requirement has been met.

At Lavalla Catholic College students usually complete 22 Units of VCE and/ or VCE VET over two years.

In Year 11, students complete 12 Units (Six in each semester) plus one Religious Education Unit (Year Long).  All students are required to complete a Unit 1 & 2 from the English studies offered.

It is recommended that Year 11 students also complete a Unit 1 & 2 in Mathematics, to enhance their suitability for further education and/or employment.

The remaining Units of the Year 11 program can be selected from any of the available VCE or VET Units.

In Year 12, students complete 10 units (five in each semester) plus one Religious Education Unit (Year Long). 

All Year 12 students, are required to complete a Unit 3 & 4 from the English studies offered unless this requirement has been met as an enhancement study at the Year 11 level